Mistake # 67: It’s all about being reprimanded

Have you ever yelled at your boss? Have you accused your boss of not liking you? One of my direct reports did it to me on Friday when I told him that I could not figure out how he spends his day. He had not followed up on a number of clients, and his sales were abysmal this month. So, he took the defensive route and started telling me that I don’t support him, that I don’t like him, and that I have issues with him.

Well, when you cannot prove to your boss that you are doing all you can to keep your sales up, never ask questions, and produce piss-poor quality work, then, yep—it just might be the case that I don’t support him, don’t like him, and have issues with him!

Leave a Reply

