Mistake # 64: Give your employees a reason to moonlight

I think one of my employees – a well-paid sales manager – is moonlighting.  With job insecurity on the rise more than ever, moonlighting is also on the rise, and employees are using their current positions to work second positions.

 

Is it illegal? To me, and most likely to a court of law, it is illegal to “steal” time and resources (phone usage, photocopies, etc.) from a company. But is moonlighting wrong? Is it something that I should worry about when this individual is taking a lot of time to go to a doctor’s appointment, on the phone and not telling me who with (although it could be one of our clients, his wife, or who knows!)? He works remotely in his home office and once he told me he couldn’t call on a scheduled time because “he had to run out”. Hm.

 

I know he has two kids in college and one in high school. Heck! I will have twins in college next year and thinking it just might come to working two jobs to get them through four years! However, I couldn’t find ten minutes in the day to moonlight if my life depended on it. Since he works in his home office, there is no one to monitor his daily activities.

 

Should moonlighting be banned altogether in a company? If a company (ours) doesn’t have a moonlighting policy, should we be sure to have one during these tough times?

Leave a Reply

