Mistake # 45: LinkedIn, or Out

LinkedIn is becoming hot. At least with me. In fact, there are co-workers who ask me to link to me on LinkedIn. I must admit, I haven’t used LinkedIn to the best of my advantage. For example, I’m in search of a sales rep and could use it to locate good candidates. There are LinkedIn webinars coming up that will teach you how to use LinkedIn to find skilled individuals who are members, newsletters, etc.

 

But, if you are in LinkedIn, as a manager, what are the “rules”? I’m not considering looking for a job in the near future. In fact, I’m hoping I don’t have to do that. But, as a manager, what is the protocol for linking in, when requested, by others who work in your own company, or who report to you?

 

Recently, I was asked to link in to someone who I had interviewed via phone. I hadn’t even met him face-to-face. I hadn’t even offered him the job. Is that appropriate? I didn’t think so. Following the hiring decision, I think that would have been a different story. But, it’s almost awkward in the middle of a hiring consideration.

 

As you can see, I have more questions than answers here. What is your experience with LinkedIn?

Leave a Reply

