Mistake #23: Walk in and tell your boss you are worth it (without proven results)

Before you walk into your bosses office and demand a $100 week raise, think again. No, don’t think, do leg-work. Put a document together that shows your value and to show your boss your that you’ve earned it. Give bulleted lists of how you saved the company money; brought in revenue; increased revenue; increased the client-base; improved a product; enhanced customer service – whatever it is, document, document, document. Why?

Because. (I know, it sounds like my mother…“Because I said so!”) It’s not that no one notices what you do, but you better have good reasons on why you are worth it. I just had an individual

Is he worth it?

His sales are down. Well, no, I take that back, his sales are up by $30,000. But, $27,000 is with one client. The other clients are down. Significantly down. We just had a several-day meeting with this specific high-roller client. This guy (who asked for the raise) didn’t lift a finger. He didn’t “know how to put on an event; had never done it before; wanted to learn from me…” Lots of reasons, but, damn it! I had to do all of the work! And, I am the supervisor!! Instead of asking others for help, he leaves it for me. And, why weren’t contracts finalized this month? “These are ‘beyond my expertise.’ Damn it! And why are the contracts late? “I sent them to “Bob” (the CEO!!), but he never had a chance to read through them. Damn it all!

Want to hear one of the reasons he asked for a raise? “His wife had to take a second job…” Pardon me? Did I hear that right? We know he is making slightly less than he was making at his previous job. However, he works from home in another city. Thus, no commute to an office. He doesn’t have a degree (which is not a good reason to being paid less, but, sorry, I had to get that in there.)  To me it’s all about performance – but there are tons of skilled people with degrees out there that will read contracts and rewrite contracts and it would not be beyond their expertise, and is not required to move to the city in which the company is located.  So, for the money he makes, the effort he puts in, the sales he generates, and the other areas that are “beyond his expertise,” I believe that he is well compensated.

So, before you ask for a raise, be sure you are worth it. Very sure. Be very sure that you can demonstrate that you are very, very worth it. Keep reminding yourself that timing is everything. And, please, ask for a raise, and get it like a man.

 

 

 

One response to “Mistake #23: Walk in and tell your boss you are worth it (without proven results)

  1. Thanks for the link to my article.

    It’s always a good idea to know what your market worth is before asking for a raise. To me that means that you also need to craft your story and your request correctly. As I have previously written, personal circumstances do not play any part in deciding on an employee’s compensation. For me, it’s all about the value that you generate for the company.

Leave a Reply

